WINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 365 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very competitive smartphone Lets go down the list of what a smart phone should do: Open lines of communication between friends and family: Got that Easy user interface that anyone can pick up in a day: Got that Good reception when making phone calls through the headset and blue tooth: Got that Great design that isn't bulky or weighed down: Got that Take great pics on a moments notice: If the lighting is very dark, it's hit or miss, but other than that great. Keep enough storage to keep plenty of pictures, videos, and music: 16 GB is ok, but for some people who are pack rats and keep EVERYTHING, a big storage size would have been a plus Keep a good battery charge throughout the day: Got that. With the 8x, I can make it passed the work day plus a lot more even with moderate use. Check all e-mail quickly: Got it. I can link all 3 of my mailboxes in one. Know the weather, latest news, and friend and family status in the blink of an eye: Got that. Live tiles on windows phone serves 2 purposes, quick information panel and an icon to open a program. The 8x has a "big enough" screen that is beautifully inserted into a nice unibody shell with with vibrant colors of your choosing. This phone will is great overall. Probably the best balanced windows phone out there. Decent size, decent screen, great specifications. November 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Absolutely in love with this phone I don't care what people are saying about windows phones. Beside the obvious fault that there is definitely an app shortage and that you have really no other choice then IE to browse (would love to see opera), then this phone and that os is brilliant. Got a win 8 laptop and a xbox one console and connected those three things together. I'm organized which is surprising since I didn't plan that. Hope the windows phones stay alive, they are definitely worth it! March 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome phone my last phone was the HTC EVO 3D and it was very good for a few years but when it started to slow I knew I had to upgrade so I spent weeks looing at phones and I wanted to stay with HTC but wanted to try another OS so I landed with the HTC 8X and never regretted it. brilliant phone, camera and battery life I highly recommend it. February 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would rather go back to a landline! If you are ever thinking about getting one of the HTC Windows 8 Phones, I would highly recommend that you think twice. It is one of the worst phones on the market and should be taken out of the market and destroyed. I gave this phone a "1 star" rating only because I had to give it at least one even though it is not worthy of even a smidge of a star rating. I got the phone back in May 2013 and have had to have it replaced 2 times. It has missing or invalid sim card issues, it shuts itself off, when the volume is all the way up (30) and you are listening to music and you get a phone call, after the call, the music will still play but no sound will come out even though the volume says it is all the way up to 30. When connected to wifi, I have to repeatedly turn off the wifi in order to make the internet work. Even at that, it is very slow. My data usage has almost gone ove 2 tines because of this not so good phone. I was at work one day, texting a friend about getting a car, put the phone down after sending the last text to my friend, looked at the phone 5 minutes later and the screen was cracked! I didn't drop the phone nor did I drop anything on it and if I did, there would be some sort of impact on the screen and there was not. I have issues with sending text messages as well. More often than not, my sent messages will read the message I sent and "message cannot be sent". Then I have to power the phone down and power it back up inorder to send a message. It shouldnt have to be this way with what I first thought was a really good phone. The only cool thing about it is the live tiles. Nothing more. Please spare yourself the waste of money and do not buy or recommend this phone top anyone. February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by best windows phone in market.... 1. best screen 2. best camera 3. great design 4. awesome build quality 5. best specs in this range in simple words perfect phone for daily use , i use it for socializing calls and take photos with it... must go for it... February 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good at first, but... I was super excited to get this phone, but a few months after i got it, it started doing weird stuff. twice it started vibrating constantly for about a minute and i couldn't control any of the buttons. and about once a week it would start flipping through a bunch of apps i didn't select. It has hung up on a conversation. I really didn't want this to be my first experience with a phone, i was trying out the WP8 OS, its good, but i think the phone is having problems because its one of the first in the brand. A few updates from Microsoft have fixed a few things. I wouldn't recommend it. February 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I wanted a phone not a camera This phone was issued to me by my employers - I will refuse to have another one. Without doubt the most infuriating and useless piece of kit I've ever come across. The camera and the display are excellent, but the functionality, and ease of use are non existent. It cannot download anything except when it has access to a wifi connection - more often than not I have to use my android phone as a mobile hotspot if I want to download anything or access the web on the HTC. Due to these problems, I downloaded some apps I wanted onto my PC with the intention of transferring them to the 8x - it can't be done unless you register the phone for development. As a Windows user for over 20 years (and former MS Windows beta tester) I find Windows 8 to be totally non-intuitive and the mobile version is even worse. If I could find an Android phone with a camera and display as good as this I would be in heaven. However, on the 8x these are not enough to compensate for the fact I need a phone that can handle apps - and this doesn't meet that requirement. I would rate this phone as a zero, but the review system forces me to give it one star - it doesn't deserve it. January 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not the best from HTC I must be one of the biggest HTC fans on earth, but when it comes to the HTC Windows 8x i must say I'm very disappointed. This phone must have one of the best camera's I've seen, and the wide angle front facing camera is excellent, but as far as the operating system goes, its a major let down! This is my 4th HTC smartphone, and I absolutely cannot wait for my contract to expire so i can get rid of this phone! I recommend ANY of the HTC android phones, but will never in my life get a phone that is run on a windows operating system! Its like moving from 2014 to 1995… You customize anything on this operating system. It's like having a smartphone but restricting what you can do with it. Absolutely pointless…. Really didn't expect this poor phone from HTC, but I'm also looking forward to getting my new HTC with a ANDROID operating system again! January 17, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 13 >>