Choose your region

Windows Phone 8X by HTC Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 450 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very competitive smartphone Lets go down the list of what a smart phone should do: Open lines of communication between friends and family: Got that Easy user interface that anyone can pick up in a day: Got that Good reception when making phone calls through the headset and blue tooth: Got that Great design that isn't bulky or weighed down: Got that Take great pics on a moments notice: If the lighting is very dark, it's hit or miss, but other than that great. Keep enough storage to keep plenty of pictures, videos, and music: 16 GB is ok, but for some people who are pack rats and keep EVERYTHING, a big storage size would have been a plus Keep a good battery charge throughout the day: Got that. With the 8x, I can make it passed the work day plus a lot more even with moderate use. Check all e-mail quickly: Got it. I can link all 3 of my mailboxes in one. Know the weather, latest news, and friend and family status in the blink of an eye: Got that. Live tiles on windows phone serves 2 purposes, quick information panel and an icon to open a program. The 8x has a "big enough" screen that is beautifully inserted into a nice unibody shell with with vibrant colors of your choosing. This phone will is great overall. Probably the best balanced windows phone out there. Decent size, decent screen, great specifications. November 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect for my needs Just wanted to upgrade from a Nokia Lumia 520 to my beautiful HTC 8X Black. I'm in love with it. I only miss some software features from Nokia but overall is a great phone for its price. And it looks gorgeous! With the next OS update to Windows Phone 8.1, it will be great. My only cons are for the battery. It is quite average, not far from my ex-phone Windows Phone device but quite normal for a smartphone with all its facilities activated (WiFi, mobile data, sync etc). I'm a hard-core user. :D April 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Gets worse with time I've had this phone for a year now,at first it was brilliant. Exactly what I was looking for,great wifi for apps and using facebook and such. Yet as the months have gone on I've started noticing small problems for example the charger - where the cable plugs in has become loose and doesn't always connect, a message frequently pops up saying 'sim error', wifi regularly says it isn't connected leaving me to switch on and off in settings before letting me carry on. The most annoying of all the problems has to be the battery life, it rarely lasts the whole day. Overall I'd say this phone just keeps getting worse and worse March 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good phone with few con's + Awesome phone by having HD display with 342ppi, Design was awesome, Usage was excellent, Sound quality was unbelievable with beats audio(feel like in a theater) _ Battery life was worst, it was draining like a beer, Windows 8 does not contain much apps, most of the apps are paid. Red eye issue, worst in low-light (I don't recommend this camera, lumia 920 is better than this in concern about camera), I didn't find any solution till now to prevent this red eye issue. Over all, Nice phone by an premium brand with an premium Look and sleek design. I recommend this phone as it is low budget phone, but if you are looking for an premium usage with camera, don't go for this To say in one word, Awesome phone with few defects. March 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Absolutely in love with this phone I don't care what people are saying about windows phones. Beside the obvious fault that there is definitely an app shortage and that you have really no other choice then IE to browse (would love to see opera), then this phone and that os is brilliant. Got a win 8 laptop and a xbox one console and connected those three things together. I'm organized which is surprising since I didn't plan that. Hope the windows phones stay alive, they are definitely worth it! March 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad battery, bad buttons The phone is light, thin and fairly indestructible. I can't even scratch the plastic back or screen. While it is obviously well-made, it feels "plasticky" to me. The screen is very nice, images and pictures are smooth and clear. And the sound is louder and clearer than I could imagine a phone could be. Tethering and wifi have both worked well when needed/available. I had no issues with the camera but didn't use it too much (I'm not a big picture taker). The buttons are difficult to see/feel in the dark or in a pocket until the phone is picked up. Grabbing it, it's hard not to push one of them accidentally and that can start applications like the camera or a bing search screen or otherwise change your volume settings. It's particularly annoying when I'm trying to use the flashlight in unexpected manual work situations. The phone eats through it's battery fast. My phone is 1.5 years old and 3-4 hours of on-and-off web surfing on message boards will kill a full cell. It recharges very very slowly using a usb connection to a PC - sometimes it will appear to be charging even when it isn't. There are a couple of issues with the operating system but nothing major. Coming from an iPhone 3s I remember noticing that the screen was less responsive and less easy to "type" on but it wasn't by much and I don't notice it now. There's also a little clipping with IE - in landscape mode the bottom right edge goes off the screen. I got used to that also. It's nice being able to play around with the tile sizes and arrangements. I also like that the phone can be used as a usb storage device albeit there's not much space for large images/videos (vs my old iPhones that had to be jailbroken to allow that). Otherwise it would be hard for me to explain to someone what the advantages of Windows are over iOS. I'm not an apps user other than Kindle and the flashlight so won't comment on that other than to lament about the lack of bank apps for uploading checks. This is my 3rd smartphone and while I had regrets about losing my old iPhone I will have none when I replace this with something with similar features. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome phone my last phone was the HTC EVO 3D and it was very good for a few years but when it started to slow I knew I had to upgrade so I spent weeks looing at phones and I wanted to stay with HTC but wanted to try another OS so I landed with the HTC 8X and never regretted it. brilliant phone, camera and battery life I highly recommend it. February 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would rather go back to a landline! If you are ever thinking about getting one of the HTC Windows 8 Phones, I would highly recommend that you think twice. It is one of the worst phones on the market and should be taken out of the market and destroyed. I gave this phone a "1 star" rating only because I had to give it at least one even though it is not worthy of even a smidge of a star rating. I got the phone back in May 2013 and have had to have it replaced 2 times. It has missing or invalid sim card issues, it shuts itself off, when the volume is all the way up (30) and you are listening to music and you get a phone call, after the call, the music will still play but no sound will come out even though the volume says it is all the way up to 30. When connected to wifi, I have to repeatedly turn off the wifi in order to make the internet work. Even at that, it is very slow. My data usage has almost gone ove 2 tines because of this not so good phone. I was at work one day, texting a friend about getting a car, put the phone down after sending the last text to my friend, looked at the phone 5 minutes later and the screen was cracked! I didn't drop the phone nor did I drop anything on it and if I did, there would be some sort of impact on the screen and there was not. I have issues with sending text messages as well. More often than not, my sent messages will read the message I sent and "message cannot be sent". Then I have to power the phone down and power it back up inorder to send a message. It shouldnt have to be this way with what I first thought was a really good phone. The only cool thing about it is the live tiles. Nothing more. Please spare yourself the waste of money and do not buy or recommend this phone top anyone. February 24, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 16 >>