Droid DNA by HTC Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 164 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Update" I write this review in the hope that an HTC representative will see this. I've had the Droid DNA for about 6 months now. I've loved it (albeit the size - tight jeans = small pockets) for 5 months and 29 days. My phone just updated, unprompted, yesterday to the Sense 5 skin and 4.2.2 software. I absolutely hate the update. I can sincerely say without exaggeration that nothing has improved with this new software, and in fact quite the opposite has occurred. The design is incredibly unattractive. My home-screen and icons are no longer sleek and appealing but everything is boxy and black and white. I can no longer see the keyboard when texting outside and the keyboard is much smaller making typos more frequent. The call interface, though advertised as making it easier to find contacts, has in fact made it harder to do so. I can expound on the various other ways in which this update is a total downgrade from the really excellent phone I had prior but there are two things that stand out: the battery life and texting time. My "old" phone had an amazing battery life. It could go almost an entire day without charging even with moderate to frequent use. The battery now depletes at a rapid pace with infrequent use! Worse, there is a very noticeable, very frustrating lag time when sending a text. After pressing the send button, the message disappears and there is about a 5 second delay until it reappears in the thread. This is also very buggy and I've had to repeat sending messages several times. In addition, sending and receiving messages in a group takes even longer. The contacts also show up as the phone number rather than the contact name in the text thread screen. I am incredibly disappointed with this "update" and am seriously considering getting a new phone. To all potential buyers, check to see if the DNA is on the Sense 5 system - if so, Samsung may be your better bet. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GET THIS PHONE, SERIOUSLY Seriously guys, get this phone. I lost my brand new droid DNA on new years, and three months later today i got a phone call that someone had found my phone in a ditch somewhere half buried in the snow. He said that he pressed the home button and it still had 5% battery left. I don't know how this phone stayed alive and in perfect working condition after three months of being in the snow, rain, and -50 degree temperatures. GET THIS PHONE, IT HAS THE SOUL OF NOKIA. March 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Phone This was my very first HTC phone, after owning a piece of junk from samsung (samsung continuum) I was determined to find a good phone I would enjoy for 2 years. While doing research online I came across the the DNA. I decided to go with it because of its high end specs and it looked really good. I bought this phone last January in 2013 and have been using it since then. I still love the phone to this day, and its still working very well. The phone is very smooth and has zero lag and performs all tasks I throw at it with ease. The only complaint I have is the battery life, I am a heavy user on my phone and daily average about 2 or more hours of screen time. The battery usually gets to around 30% at around 2 o'clock with me using it constantly all day. For an average user this phone would probably be good on battery life but it does get me through the day with my heavy use. Overall this is an amazing phone and has not let me down yet. I have not shown interest in any other phones because this phone can handle everything I use it for with ease, I will diffidently get 2 or more years out of this phone. Highly recommend and my next phone will for sure be another HTC. March 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good phone For the most part, I love this phone. Initial set up was a pain because it wouldn't connect to my network. After that was resolved I was pleased with the phone. My main complaint is with the charging usb cord. The cord began to fray within 3 months....the cord was never bent or used improperly. The cord shorted out within 7 months. This is the 2nd HTC phone that I've purchased and had the same problem with the last usb cord as well. As much as I like HTC's phones, their charging cords leave a lot to be desired. I don't know if I will continue to purchase HTC phones if they do not vastly improve their charging usb cords. February 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really Good The phone it's self is beautiful, it feels really nice in my hand but after about 2 or 3 minutes of moderate use the phone gets really warm. A little too warm for comfort. It feels really solid in-hand but I am always afraid of dropping it because the screens glass wraps around the sides of the phone, it looks nice but has no functionality. I think it was nice of HTC to push an update to the device giving it a much needed upgrade to android 4.2.2 as well as Sense 5, I couldn't stand the look of the previous sense version. I also appreciate that HTC will be pushing the Kit-Kat update sometime soon. I hope the battery life is improved in the newest update... It is really bad now. I wouldn't recommend this device because of It's Battery Life, and HTC's rapid refresh cycle but I don't plan on leaving my Droid soon... January 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great phone but there are some issues... The HTC Droid DNA was my second smartphone, my first being the iPhone 3GS. I bought this phone January of 2013, after two eager months of watching the tv commercials for it, and going to verizon stores to explore the phone. Overall, the phone is great with a full hd screen, and an excellent processor. Even after almost a year, and reaching my 16 gb storage capacity, my phone still runs great with no slowing down in performance or graphical issues. But, just like every other product, there are problems and nuisances. The Droid Dna has an Hd screen, but it definitely doesn't have the battery life to support it. If you are playing a game or watching a video, chances are, your phone will run out of battery by the end of the day. Also, 16 gb is not enough to support the amount of data you will probably have on your phone. I only have few photos and videos but due to the full hd capturing, photos and videos consume a lot of data! Also, your storage will go by fast if you even download a few games. Also, I really hope they come out with an android update for the phone!!! Other than these minor problems, the phone is pretty fun to use. November 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect phone still after almost 9 months I have had this phone for over 8 and a half months and I love it. Haven't ever had any glitches really and it has only givin me troubles twice on startup. Battery lasts me usually about three days with facebook, calling, texting and the whole nine yards. Great screen and feels durable and hasn't broken or Gotton scratched and I'm very hard on phones. I really like the size and have zero complaints. I even wrote this review on the phone! Great work HTC and I still like it more than the HTC One. November 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great phone but.. Very fast ad vibrant phone. Well made and has great qualities. My problem with this phone which I had for a month now is the battery,power button,and usb charging port. Battery life is good but for a great high end device it'll need a bigger battery for heavy users,but it will get me through the day at work. Power button is on top which I don't feel comfortable using it with one hand maybe because my hands are a little smaller than average so its a personal issue but that's one thing I didn't like. Usb charging flap is very annoying but good for dust. Having to charge it and moving the flap out the way is annoying but you can break it off but I'm not trying to have a broken piece off of a phone. Very good phone and been looking into the HTC one but the camera and 5 inch display on this is holding me back. Mainly just want better battery so hopefully the next update will help consume more battery life. November 21, 2013
2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>