Choose your region

Droid DNA by HTC Reviews

WRITE A REVIEW
173 global reviews
Features
4.5514
Battery Life
3.9141
Design
4.5327
Performance
4.6168
Camera
4.5254
Sound Quality
4.0847
Screen
4.5085
Ease of Use
4.4969
Look & Feel
4.4237
Sort By:
Tashus
California, USA
2014-11-05

Looks good. Functions not great. Sounds worse.

The phone looks good and feels nice in your hands. Unfortunately, anything that isn't a stock Android application runs very slowly. The texting app that HTC provides is incredibly slow. Pulling up a text thread takes between 2 and 7 seconds every time, even right after a system restart. Right when a text is received, there is a delay between the notification coming through and the text actually showing up in the app. There is a huge delay after hitting send before the text input area clears, and another delay before you can start entering more text. If you try to enter text before both of these delay periods (a total of about 4 or 5 seconds), everything will disappear after the first text goes out. The texting behavior got considerably worse with an OTA update. Occasionally the phone will completely lose it's cellular data connection after being connected to wifi for a long time. The only solution I found was to turn the phone off and back on. For a while, this happened every time I left the house. The spea

JessieD
Seattle, WA, USA
2014-10-03

If I could marry a phone, I would marry this one.

Never in my entire life have I ever had a phone this good. I'm going on about a year of having it now, and even though I have accidentally dropped it more than once it has no scratches or marks. The camera is incredible (Better then my friends iPhone 5, we tested) and the screen is incredible. I often get many comments on how its so clear and HD. The sound is better than my old radio, especially with headphones in. The features, storage, ease of use and everything else is wonderful. A phone works only as good as the person controlling it, so treat this phone nicely and it will return the favor. I HIGHLY recommend.

TONYA
Moreno Valley, CA, USA
2014-08-14

junk!!

This phone is a piece of junk. very thin and cracks easy. After time I continue to get error messages that my texts can not be received. Power button has broke on 3 different phones. Tired of the phone... it is nothing but headache after headache.. Also, it freezes a lot. and when your in a call, its very difficult do do anything outside of that screen because the screen turns on and off and glitches. DO NOT BUY

Bobert11
2014-07-31

HTC Droid DNA

I have had this powerhouse of a phone for a little over a year now, and the phone still amazes me. The cameras are excellent, the screen is to die for, and I love the design of the phone. I have had absolutely no problems with the hardware or software, in fact, the phone has sped up with each update. I am extremely happy with the Kit Kat upgrade as my phone powers through daily activities and my battery usually runs out of juice around midnight. HTC has done a great job in updating this phone to Kit Kat. You know that you are doing something right when this phone can hang with present day flagship smartphones. I will definitely upgrade to another HTC when my contract is up.

Geser30
Ukraine
2014-07-24

I want to see official update sense 6.0 on this phone !!!

Please update my HTC droid dna to sense 6.0 ! I.m from Ukraine, sorry for my grammatik ))

Bocajb
Denver/Hollywood Fl,
2014-07-23

Droid DNA Junk

We have two of these wretched phones. After a year the antenna starts to go. We live in areas that Verizon says gets strong 4G signals. Ours' however, go 1 bar 3G to 1X all the time. This was in Central Denver. Then I went home to South Florida #Hollywood#, same experience. I also get dropped calls outside! And the latest Google upgrade is junk too. I hate all the Aps I never use. They clutter my phone and make it look like a cheap Billboard in a bad part of town. I never use any of them!

mach1kid
Indiana, USA
2014-06-07

Junk Phone

I originally bought this phone just over a year ago and it was fine, everything worked perfect. Then one of the cameras went out and about a week later the other one did, so I had to get a new one. After I got the new one about a month and a half later it would disconnect my SIM card and it would never reconnect. And so I had to get another replacement phone. I have had this phone for about three months now and it was doing fine until the other day I plugged it in to charge and when I woke up in the morning, it was dead, and it won't charge or turn on. It won't do anything. I have had this phone three times in just over a year and it is JUNK!! Continuous problems is all I have encountered with this phone.

Jenn1981
Griswold, CT, USA
2014-04-30

4.2.2 Update Crash

To be honest I have never written a review before, but in the hope the technicians read these reviews I am writing this to address an emerging issue with the newest update. This afternoon I used my phone as normal and it was fine until I let it install the update. I hit OK and the screen went white with the HTC logo for about 5 seconds before going black. Now it is COMPLETELY unresponsive to hard reset and even the charger. It was fully charged before the update. I have had my DNA for almost a year and a half and it is a great phone. I have never had a problem with it until today. Luckily Verizon extended my warranty so I am getting a new phone but now I am worried that this update will render this phone useless yet again. I will not be recommending this phone to anyone if this new phone does the same thing. I was also informed from Verizon outlet in my area that I am the second person in the last two weeks that experienced the same thing with the same exact phone.

DroidGuy
2014-04-18

Very Good Phone

I have had this phone for almost a year know and its really good and I love it. I can't wait for kitkat update.

Rach
Boston
2014-03-19

"Update"

I write this review in the hope that an HTC representative will see this. I've had the Droid DNA for about 6 months now. I've loved it (albeit the size - tight jeans = small pockets) for 5 months and 29 days. My phone just updated, unprompted, yesterday to the Sense 5 skin and 4.2.2 software. I absolutely hate the update. I can sincerely say without exaggeration that nothing has improved with this new software, and in fact quite the opposite has occurred. The design is incredibly unattractive. My home-screen and icons are no longer sleek and appealing but everything is boxy and black and white. I can no longer see the keyboard when texting outside and the keyboard is much smaller making typos more frequent. The call interface, though advertised as making it easier to find contacts, has in fact made it harder to do so. I can expound on the various other ways in which this update is a total downgrade from the really excellent phone I had prior but there are two things that stand out: the battery life and textin

VIEW MORE