HTC Media Link HD Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 27 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Kitkat Update Ruined it The Media Link worked just fine before the most recent 4.4 Kitkat update on my HTC One. But now it keeps losing connection from the hotspot pairing, and disconnects nearly every few minutes. On top of that, it seems like HTC took off the Dual Screen mode that works with the Music, Youtube, Gallery, and HTC Watch App. It's supposed to stream these apps onto the big screen while you can browse, call, surf the web on your phone without interfering with the streaming. But now everything you do on the phone while still running those specific apps will interfere, and no longer does the dual screen mode. This was the only feature i got the HTC Media Link for, and now its useless to me unless HTC does something about it and puts that feature back in. Very disappointed now in this. March 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Loved this product This was a much sought after product ever since I purchased the HTC One. I live in a situation where I do not have access to a WiFi network or the ability to get Blu Ray movies and I used this constantly paired with HTC Watch and Netflix. After the most recent 4.4.2 and Sense 5.5 update HTC Watch no longer works through the Media Link. This now leaves my product capable of streaming YouTube and Netflix (poorly) and incapable of playing the smooth playing HTC Watch. Please fix, I love this device. February 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DOES NOT STREAM NETFILX AND THE CAMERA MAY BREAK!!!!! Read an incredible Engadget review on the HTC One by Brad Molen back in March 2013 and thought this HTC One was the bomb. That review motivated me to cough up almost $700 for an unlocked developer edition HTC One around May of 2013 thinking I found the "gem" of the android smartphones. At the time, price wasn't much of a factor. I wanted quality. ALL of my friends who purchased androids got the corresponding competitor that begins with an "S" and said I was crazy. Hindsight tells me they may have been on to something. I treat this phone like a Rolex watch. Never dropped, Zagg covers, Otterbox, etc., but now, my camera is very distorted and to add insult to injury there is a huge blue tint when trying to take pics inside... so I don't. I also purchased the Media Link specifically for Netflix. It worked... until the first android update. Then, it stopped streaming video on Netflix, but the audio played - yipee. Easy $100 lost. Chromecast has a product for $30 that will stream Netflix. THIS COMPANY NEEDS TO EITHER TAKE THE MEDIA LINK OFF THEIR PAGE OR CLEARLY POST THAT IT WILL NOT STREAM NETFLIX... FOR WHATEVER THEIR LICENSE REASON IS... Wish I would have purchased that flimsy "S" phone... ha! February 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by good Faster phone easy to use the phone now download is faster it dont freeze up November 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must have! I bought this with my new HTC one thinking that it would probably be difficult to function on the one tv in my house that didn't already have streaming capability (given the fact that I am far from a "pro" with most technology) but that it was worth a try and could return it if it was too difficult. I have been more than impressed with all the features and how simple this is to use. I seriously don't know how I lived without this! I have a smart tv in one room, an apple streaming box on another tv and my HTC streaming media link was intended for my bedroom tv. I now take this with me to use in any room I will want to watch tv in! I even travel with it! The options are limitless as to what I want to watch. I can stream anything I choose to any tv with an hd connection. Any movie/tv show any time I want! No commercials! It even works without WiFi by using my unlimited cell data connection, although it is faster and seamless with WiFi! In the end I am now going to save a ton of $ because I can without a doubt or any hesitation, cancel my cable tv subscription! I don't usually go out and do product reviews unless I am extremely disappointed in a product or extremely impressed and this is definetely a product that deserves my raving positive review! There aren't enough words to describe how impressed I am with the HTC media link! Thank you, thank you, thank you HTC! November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works After Update Finally after several months of waiting this product that came free with purchase of the HTC One from AT&T now FINALLY works (*After-update)!! Its everything I expected it to be, you can show off your photos and videos! I did try Google Play on it but no luck..although everything else works just as described. *If you are still having issues and your carrier is AT&T make sure you update your software to the latest version. Android Version as of today 10/25/13 is 4.1.2 HTC Sence Version 5.0 October 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! Works great! I saw a lot of negative reviews about media link, but I bought it anyway, because I bought Google Chrome cast and was very disappointed. Google Chrome cast only lets you stream from apps that Google supports. I have an HTC One on tmobile network, although, I don't think it makes a difference. I have Clear WiFi mobile hotspot. I turned on my media link, my phone recognized it right away, a code came up on the tv screen, type it into my phone, and it began to mirror my phone. I logged in to my Jetflicks app, which has content, Netflix doesn't have, started a show I wanted to watch, three fingers up, and the show was streaming on my tv, sweet! Works perfect straight out of the box. No problems what so ever, and it is way better than Google Chrome cast! Great product! October 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is very handy. I felt I do really needed something like that, so, I bought one. now, in my university and my work place use it so much. it is very handy, you can use your cell-phone while you are using it. Why Not? It is a good idea. I hope there would be more and more of these practical gadgets in the future. (Advanced one) Good job! Also if you design new smart TVs may be we do not need to buy these things in the future. August 18, 2013
2 >>