Connecting your phone to a computer

Connecting your phone to a computer

Whenever you connect HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio to a computer using the USB cable, the Choose a connection type screen opens and lets you choose the type of USB connection.
Select one of the following choices, and then tap Done:
Charge only Select this option if you only want to charge the battery while connected to your computer.
Disk drive Select this mode when you want to copy files between HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio and your computer.

When on Disk drive mode, you will not be able to use apps on HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio that access the storage such as Camera.

HTC Sync Select this option to synchronize contacts, calendar, and other information between your computer and HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio.
USB tethering When you do not have an Internet connection on your computer, you can select this mode to share the mobile data connection of HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio with your computer.
Internet pass-through If you don’t have a data plan or you don’t have access to a Wi-Fi network, you can select this mode to share your computer’s Internet connection with HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio.

Where apps, data, and files are stored

HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio uses these storage types:

Apps and data storage

Apps are installed to this storage, labeled as Internal storage in your phone settings. It also stores data such as your text messages, contacts you created or synchronized to your phone, account settings, and more.

This storage is managed and carefully guarded by your phone since it contains your private information. When you connect your phone to your computer, this storage is not accessible from your computer.

Storage contents will be erased when you do a factory reset. Make sure to back up your data before starting a factory reset.

File storage

This is another built-in storage, labeled as Phone storage in your phone settings. This is where you can store your files.

When you connect your phone to your computer, this storage is accessible and you can copy files between them.

When you do a factory reset, you can choose whether to keep or erase the storage contents.

0 People found this helpful