HTC One max Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 69 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! I have been a fan of HTC devices for many years now and the One Max is the best I've had yet! I'm a bigger guy so the size is absolutely perfect. The only down side that goes along with the large size is that it can sometimes be a bit awkward when messaging one handed however the many benefits of the size far outweigh that one negative. The large screen is very clear and great for video. The system runs fast and very smooth. The speakers, I don't know what to say, they put out the absolute best sound I've ever heard from a mobile device. Camera quality is great, both front and rear. I'm a very heavy user and the battery holds up better than any device I've had previously. There are many very cool new features that I have not previously had that I have not yet begun to use on a regular basis so there's still so much more I'll be able to do. I would recommend the HTC One Max any day of the week over any other device on the market! April 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Phone - I love that it is big AND heavy! I have had benign tremors all my life which means I shake a lot! This is the first phone that is heavy enough to minimize my shaking. Obviously most people prefer small, light weight phones but for those who have a handicap (and shaking is a handicap as I drop things and, when I write or tap, my fingers may or may not end up doing what I intend them to do), a big screen and a solid feel is wonderful. Add to that a connection speed that is lightening fast, reception that is clear and comprehensible (very rare that the sound is tinny and I have to repeat "what did you say" in the conversation), and you've got a winner. I am sorry HTC is struggling as this is my first HTC phone and it is far, far better than the Motorola Droid X or any Samsung Phones we have had. I recommend it all my friends and family, even those who don't shake... March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb In Every Way! When I received My HTC One Max and opened the box, my initial impression was WOW, that's a big phone! I thought to myself, I'll never be able to carry that around conveniently. Boy, was I wrong. It really grows on you and you get so accustomed to carrying it that you never really notice the size. the display is superb. It's not too big and definitely not too small. The graphics are amazing. Feature-wise, I was not real sure how Blinkfeed would blend in to my mobile lifestyle. Blinkfeed is now a major part of my lifestyle. I have gotten way too accustomed to having everything I need in one collage. The TV feature is by far my favorite. I use it in preference to my remote on a daily basis. I love being able to look at all my shows categorized without having to scroll through that ridiculous guide on the TV. The fingerprint scanner is pretty nifty. I have tried to crack it in every way, but it works too well. It is a great added security feature. The speakers can work too well sometimes. You can blow your ears out if it is cranked up on a call, but all in all, there is never a problem hearing the crisp, clear, booming sound on the external speakers. The sound blows my mind. The build on the Max is impeccable! Sturdy and stout are the words I would use to describe the superb craftsmanship of the Max. The fact that it supports SD cards is an added bonus over the One. It is quite unfortunate that I no longer have possession of this finely crafted piece of art. My wife's phone went to the dumps and she took over my Max and refuses to give it back. She says it's the only phone she's ever had that works like it is supposed to. I highly recommend the One Max any day. I am sure all who own it will feel the same way. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Htc Max HTC one max is one of the biggest phones I have owned to date! it is really easy to use, the feel is not so great because of the size and also the grip! it has a nice colorful screen and a good sound quality. it would have been nice for this phone to have a smaller back cover door, more PPI resolution, power button on top of phone where headphone jack is but on the opposite side, volume keys on the left side of the phone. I RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT. hopefully soon, KITKAT 4.4 COMES OUT SOON :) February 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Get the Samsung junk out of this phone This is a excellent phone in every way but one. The power button on the side where you hold the phone is the most ignorant place to put a power button (Samsung). You will turn this phone off a thousand times when you don't want to and you will turn it on just as many times when you don't want to. Power button on the top where it belongs and it would be 5 stars. February 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bigger is Better!?! The HTC One Max, its just a larger version of the HTC One, isn't it?! Well, yes it is, but it's not so cut & dried of it being a One with a larger screen. While both models have a lot in common, having both devices, I feel that there is a distinction to user experience. I find the larger screen real estate on the One Max really lends itself to reading/browsing and multimedia activities better, though the One isn't a slouch in that respect, just that the larger screen is an advantage there. Screen - the large 5.9" Super LCD3 is something that doesn't disappoint and supporting Full HD output, it makes viewing text, reading, watching clips/videos & editing photos a breeze. Despite the screen size, it doesn't seem to be as large as you'll expect, thanks to HTC's well thought out industrial design. Audio - BoomSound speakers still rock. No Beats Audio on this model, but I don't miss it as I'm not a fan of its sound profile. Dual front facing speakers still make listening to music, videos and the like an enjoyable experience, without a need to cup over the rear speakers like other mobiles. Camera - 4mp Ultrapixel unit similar to the One, it has the additional features of the Dual shot mode, as well as an anti-shake mode possible to compensate for the lack of OIS (optical image stabilisation) which was on the One. It does not disappoint though. Take good pics and performs well in video mode as well. Superb for making Zoes and video highlights. Coupled with the larger screen, it makes viewing easy on the eyes when reviewing shots. Hardware - While some people might lament the Snapdragon 600 as not being powerful enough, but in my experience, it has no issues with lag or performance bottlenecks with the 2Gb RAM on board, using the phone, Blinkfeed and any other application, I've not had issues with it in the 2 months I've had the One Max. Fingerprint scanner - To some this seems like a gimmick, but it does add a layer of security for users. Not to mention that it makes one handed unlocking a straight forward affair. But it also has the ability to fire up applications like how I've set it to fire up the camera app if I swipe the pre-programmed finger. Works well, though I would ideally like to see more functionality to it in time to come. Battery life - This is where the One Max stands out. Thanks in no small part to its superb software optimization with Sense 5.5, and of course the large 3300 mAh battery on the One Max, that my battery bank has taken an indefinite hiatus for the time being. All in all, I think the HTC One Max is a very compelling device, phablet lovers & loathers alike (I must admit I was leaning towards the latter group, initially) should give it a try and be surprised at what it offers. It has lots to offer and you might just be surprised at how much you'll enjoy the larger screen. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by If phones this size are not cool then I'd rather be not cool The HTC One Max has been described by many as being "far too big" and it's also been said that there is no place on the market for a phone like this so when I got my hands on the device a little under 2 month ago I had mixed emotions about it, before I even opened the box. Was this device that would finally have me backing up the comments of others and finally admitting that there is a size that should be classed as too big to be a phone or would I be blown away by the HTC One's bigger family member? Will I ever be able to stop comparing the HTC One Max to the HTC One? All will be revealed in my review below. At first glance you could easy mistake the HTC One Max for an oversized HTC One however there are some very big differences between the HTC One and the HTC One Max. Looking at the front of the device there is little difference at all between the two handsets and the differences aren't really found until you look at the side of the device where you will notice that the bezel has been swapped out for an HTC One Mini styled plastic one. HTC have also moved the power button to just below the volume buttons giving way to a dedicated IR-Blaster on the top of the device alongside the 3.5mm headphone port. Flipping the device over reveals the biggest difference between the HTC One and HTC One Max which is the removable back cover. Despite there being no removable battery there is space for the sim card and a removable micro-sd card. The back of the device reveals more interesting changes from the HTC One with the shift of the LED Flash to the left hand side of the camera and the introduction of a fingerprint scanner below the camera as well as POGO pins at the bottom right hand side of the device (more on those later). The HTC One Max comes with Android 4.3 right out of the box along with HTC's Sense 5 overlay. You’re instantly greeted by HTC’s Blinkfeed page and a simple side swipe will return you to the standard Android home screen. The main difference between the HTC One and HTC One Max on the software side of things is the introduction of fingerprint scan which lies within the settings menu of the device and allows you to set your finger print scans and quick actions based on those. Like most oversized devices the colour clarity on colours like black ends up very much lost in the screen. At low level brightness you can clearly identify that black is 100% black however at maximum brightness, the black colour is far from black and struggles to blend in with the black border which surrounds the screen itself. For most people (myself included) the colours look great on the device and when it comes to watching HD movies in a dark room it's very much like having your very own home cinema. Good Points: 5.9-inch Display HTC Boomsound Amazing Battery Life Removable Rear Cover Finger Print Scan Bad Points: Speaker Grills Buggy Brightness I guess there has to be a bad thing with every device right? Well on the HTC One Max there are 2 items that I consider to be bad an they are listed above. You may be questioning why I have listed the speaker grills well the grills are a little too easy to dent and sadly the fix requires a whole new front end which makes me very very sad. I have a lovely looking device that sadly a design flaw has managed to ruin. Buggy Brightness, where to start with this... Rather than say why it annoys me or why I consider it bad let's just try to replicate it and then you can add comments below to say why I listed this item. 1. Put the phone on auto brightness 2. Open the camera button on anything and then without taking a photo hit back You will now notice that you have the sun in your eyes. The brightness has returned to its native Super Bright status despite being on auto. Conclussion: At the start of this review I asked if the HTC One Max would cause me to say that there really does come a point when a devices size is simply too big to be a phone and to answer that question I'll simply say no. The HTC One Max, despite being 5.9 inches, quickly becomes very "the norm" after a week of useage and going back to devices like the HTC One proves to be an annoyance. With that said, I do (on occasion) still feel slightly embarrassed when the phone rings and I have to pull the handset from my pocket (yes it fits) to reveal what can only be seen by others as a tablet. I've spend the best part of this review comparing the phone to it's smaller family member the HTC One which could be considered as unfair considering the popularity differences and not least the form factor differences however comparing it to any other handset (such as the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 or Sony Xperia Z Ultra) would also be unfair as the handset (in my opinion) is so far out of the leagues of other handsets in its range. I had considered reviewing it on its own merits however again, the HTC One Max simply is too close to the HTC One not to compare it. Overall my experience with the HTC One Max has been a very positive one and so much so that the handset is now my daily driver. Thanks go to HTC for sending me this handset to test. February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Max has Max it out! WELL what do i say about this phone its very light though it doesn't seem it with full aluminum body. the battery power for this phone is exceptional 3300 it really last long for a person talks alot on phone and watches video as well. the boomsound and as well the blinkfeed are amazing i dont think i would be happy with an another phone. as i got the fetch key with it which not only helps me locate my phone but it can be reversed to locate my key. what i also found out about my fetch key is that while having the camera app on i can use the fetch key to take pictures as well i mean the max is qute big to press the button so your at ease when your pressing the fetch designated button on it. February 12, 2014
2 3 4 >>