Choose your region

Windows Phone 8X by HTC Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 383 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very competitive smartphone Lets go down the list of what a smart phone should do: Open lines of communication between friends and family: Got that Easy user interface that anyone can pick up in a day: Got that Good reception when making phone calls through the headset and blue tooth: Got that Great design that isn't bulky or weighed down: Got that Take great pics on a moments notice: If the lighting is very dark, it's hit or miss, but other than that great. Keep enough storage to keep plenty of pictures, videos, and music: 16 GB is ok, but for some people who are pack rats and keep EVERYTHING, a big storage size would have been a plus Keep a good battery charge throughout the day: Got that. With the 8x, I can make it passed the work day plus a lot more even with moderate use. Check all e-mail quickly: Got it. I can link all 3 of my mailboxes in one. Know the weather, latest news, and friend and family status in the blink of an eye: Got that. Live tiles on windows phone serves 2 purposes, quick information panel and an icon to open a program. The 8x has a "big enough" screen that is beautifully inserted into a nice unibody shell with with vibrant colors of your choosing. This phone will is great overall. Probably the best balanced windows phone out there. Decent size, decent screen, great specifications. November 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Where is Update window 8.1 ????? i buy this product last year working great but no update for window 8.1 yyyyyyyyyy ?????? October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have been using since 1 year, i love the camera quality,size and build quality of this phone.feel premium It is excellent phone with all feature.Price is very attractive... October 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good...but not enough support I have been using this phone for a year and wanted to wait a bit before posting up. I switched from Android to Windows and am very happy with the switch. The phone itself is durable, responsive, has a clear screen, and overall works as I hoped. I wish I could give this phone a better review however there is a couple of flaws that I can't overlook. The camera in this phone is average at best and it is often difficult to take a good picture. This is not as big of an issue for me considering this is not the primary function of the phone and I usually bring a camera with me to events anyway. However, the biggest issue is the lack of support from HTC in updating the phone. The latest update from Microsoft has been out for some time now and Nokia phones have had the updates pushed to them for about a month without any word from HTC regarding a time frame. Even the lowest line of HTC Windows phones have the update and are taking advantage of the new features and I am left feeling like I am "out of the loop". Due to this lack of concern by HTC, although I am planning to stay with a Windows phone, I am just not sure that I will continue with HTC when it is time for my next phone. This is also the only reason that I have to restrain myself from recommending this phone. September 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Phone Great phone but has lots of issues first of all the phone will die out of the blue and totally stop working for a day or 6 also the sim card slot is defective and the app store is bad but it makes up for this with a great no AMAZING easy to use innovative, intuitive, operating system that is so great and and fun to use it is really great for work and it comes with one note the best notes app since google drive very clean very cool August 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good at first glance, but manufacturing problems rampant. The HTC Windows Phone 8X caught my eye last year in comparison to the rest, and the new Windows 8 OS was different and seemed like a step into the next generation of phones. For the first couple months or so it was great, but after about 4 months the problems started, then I looked at some more reviews after it has been released for a while and found I wasn't the only one. The phone OS design is great, and the battery life was exceptional. The apps, or lack of them, was a problem I could get over since it was a fairly new app store. However, since it has been well over 2 years and have yet to see much of an improvement, I can only assume there is little to no effort going into this feature, and have essentially given up hope in getting many of the apps that many of my friends and family use. The real problems however, are in the hardware itself. The SIM card tray was manufactured in such a way that the card isn't held in a single position, causing it to become dislodged and either essentially rendering the phone a paperweight by disabling every online and network feature, or just completely shuts the phone off without warning. This can become problematic if you use the phone's alarm feature and wake up hours later to find your phone has been off for the last few hours. Overall, the phone is quite good. Solid, very durable, and the Windows 8 tiles are great. There is a severe lack of accessories for this phone if that is what you're into, so don't expect much outside of a generic rubber cover and a screen protector that you have to cut to fit. The app store is incredibly lacking, and only includes some of the more commonly used apps, such as Facebook and Twitter, but others are missing, such as in my case Quizlet, a great asset for students, or any movie theater or shopping apps. The greatest downfall for this phone is the essential non-usability of it. A phone that can not be relied on to be on when you turn it on and be able to receive calls when, in rare cases still turned on, makes it a phone I can hardly use and definitely can not recommend to anyone. Please do your research thoroughly before you purchase this phone. I however think this is a fluke by HTC, as their other phones perform on a much higher level and are far superior to this what I can only call, mistake. August 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by One category is missing If you look at my ratings you may wonder why I would not recommend this phone. There is one category that they are missing and that is "Dependability". We had two of these phone on our family plan and both of them failed shortly after they were out of warranty. Search for "HCT 8X boot loop" and you will get a feel for how many others are having the same issue. Unless you like an expensive paper weight don't buy this phone. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Phone, but lack in apps I loved my HTX Windows 8x. Everything is just amazing. But a major drawback is the apps. There are very usefull app available for Lumia windows phone. But not there for HTC. HTC should come up with goods app. July 17, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 14 >>